top of page
  • Writer's pictureofbeth

My Time at Digital Gaggle Autumn 2019

Updated: Mar 23, 2020


This time last week, through my work as a Youth Ambassador for Babbasa, I got to attend a Bristol twice-yearly ran marketing conference called Digital Gaggle. Held at the Watershed Cinema alongside the Harbour, the half-day event is ‘the antidote to stuffy corporate events’ where you can learn from marketing industry leaders and to meet some friendly faces to make new friends. As someone who is still rather new to the professional event scene, I lapped up the opportunity to both discover new things about the line of work that I want a career in and to meet people who have been in the industry for a while.


Networking, Food and Introduction


We (I, another youth ambassador and two adult members from Babbasa) met at around eleven am in the foyer entrance of the Watershed before going upstairs to register for the event. We were given free hardback notebooks, a lanyard which had our name and the company we were from and a sticker – part of the initial networking was to try and find the person with a matching sticker (the stickers’ were names of famous duos). We then entered a bigger room where we were able to mingle, chat and eat lunch.


(Not going to lie, I adored the chocolate brownie and am upset that my brownie will never be as amazing as that!)


After just over an hour of eating and chatting, we all then went into the main cinema room for the talks. Before the presentations began, we were all welcomed officially to the conference by Noisy Little Monkey’s Josh Baldwin who led us all in a honk off. Yes, you read that right, a DUCK HONK OFF. As you can imagine, it was hilarious and got rid of the tension.


Talk 1

Look into My Eyes: How to Influence Buyers to Grow Your Profit by Jon Payne from Noisy Little Monkey


The first presentation of the day came from the founder of the conference’s host agency and focused on how basic psychology can help marketers to get more sales leads. Jon discussed five elements: system 1 and system 2; law of least effort; cognitive ease; reciprocity and; anchoring. He used fellow Noisy Little Monkey team member Mr Dog (an actual dog) and how he lives his life as metaphors for the psychologically backed methods which were then furthered with a collection of online case studies.


I really enjoyed Jon’s use of the System 1 and System 2 dichotomy that he took from Daniel Kahneman that are brains can be in either one of two modes of thought. Whilst System 1 is fast, instinctive and emotional, System 2 is slower, more deliberate and more logical. The first usually overrides the second due to automation and, because of that, it is best for you to provide ONE natural next step for the customer to take.


Although I felt that the talk was a little advanced for me and was also more aimed at those who are selling products and services (which I am currently not doing), the two methods that were beneficial for me personally were cognitive ease and reciprocity and I felt that I learnt a lot of new information that I can use at a later date. So, you may soon be seeing or have seen some new details to my portfolio site and how I market it to you!


Talk 2

Why We Should Be Scared of Google – And What We Can Do About It by Arianne Donoghue from Edit


Did you know that ninety-four percent of search traffic goes through Google? Neither did I and, to be frankly honest, I wasn’t surprised. The dominant monopolisation that this online corporation has created since its inception in 1998 was at the heart of Arianne’s talk and her argument is that we should not accept the status quo but be fighting for digital change; if we don’t then the internet will become even more ruined than it already is.


Though the main takeaway I took from this presentation was how I should use the given search engine talked about less and that there are other search engines available that are less dangerous in terms of data collection and privacy protection, I also came away with quite a few resources to look up. It also gave me a lot of media that I can use to market both myself and the organisations I currently work for as well as the businesses I may work for in the future.


Talk 3

Don’t Do a Pepsi: How to Be Inclusive with Your Marketing by Joyann Boyce from The Social Detail


This was the presentation at the conference that I was most excited for before I had even entered the building to attend Digital Gaggle and it totally lived up to my expectations. Joyann took example from both bad and good case studies to showcase exactly what inclusive marketing is and how marketers can get better at making their campaigns more diverse. The talk made me feel that what I want to do career wise has purpose but it also made me feel frustration at the fact that marketing is still not as inclusive as it is meant to be when we’re already in 2019.


Joy argued that there are two ways that marketers CAN make their work inclusive and those were: consider context and; be genuine with the representation – in other words, WHY? She backed that up with three steps that can be done to support diverse movements – being a vocal ally, showing support to relevant causes that are important to the community and be representative in promotional campaigns. Personas are still valid, but they need more layers and this can be done by marketers. As Joy says; 'we as marketers have the opportunity to cause change!'


More Networking and Food


An opportunity to replenish, make more connections and go to the bathroom was had here after two hours of insightful and interesting talks. We all went back into the big room where we had the networking lunch where there was a cupcake decorating table! Although not as delicious as the brownie (sorry not sorry going to be obsessing over that brownie for ages), it was a nice way to relax.

I also took the opportunity to network more (talk to strangers) during this session than I did during the lunch as my nerves seemed to have disappeared and I felt that I had things I could talk about after listening to others speak for a few hours. This included meeting some of the speakers of the event and telling them how much I enjoyed their presentations. I’m trying to get better at going up to people I don’t know and striking up conversation but it still fills me with anxiety.


Talk 4


One Tweet Away from the Sack by John Thornton from Innocent Drinks


As an obsessive Twitter user, I’ve followed the Innocent brand’s account for a while and always go to it for a good daily chuckle. John is the man behind those cackle-worthy tweets, aka the brand’s social media copywriter, and is as funny in real life as he is on the internet. I think I, and the whole of the rest of the audience, spent ninety percent of the presentation laughing very loudly at various examples of John’s work for Innocent.


Social media and content curation is a main element of what I do and what I want to do for a career, so I learnt a HELL of a lot during this as well as laughing along. John’s main point was that social media should be used to push a brand and NOT a product or service. It is NOT a tool for promotion but a way of creating attention and emotion. Marketers should be thinking ‘what does the customer want to see and why would they share it on their feed?’


John does this for Innocent by replying to every single comment, talking like a human being, giving personality to each tweet, planning a little but not a lot and knowing that if you’re at least seventy percent sure then to go for it. People CHOOSE what to view – you can’t just assume that you or your brand will become social media famous. However, people also give the best ideas and that can form brilliant content.


Talk 5

Digital Experience Optimisation: Leveraging Data Led Decision Making by Molly Evans from Plusnet


Though a really intriguing presentation, this was in the end my least favourite talk of all the ones I went to at Digital Gaggle. I think this was because of the use of technical language and maths – I might have gotten a B in my GCSEs but that doesn’t mean I like it! However, I do like data; as part of my work, I construct KPI reports for social media accounts so part of it was relevant to me. I did learn things; it just wasn’t my favourite!


Molly’s four main points were to: measure correctly; analyse effectively; communicate clearly and; optimise continually. Decisions that are made by you or your company should be based on and backed up by insights, turning the numbers and responses into actionable data. Yet, the data must go hand in hand with creativity – you can’t have one without the other and you can’t prioritise one more.


Talk 6

Considered Creativity: How to Supercharge Your Ideas to Drive Better Results by Kirsty Hulse from Roar Training


The final presentation of the day was about the latter of the two of the above – creativity. Kirsty used neuroscience and really solid research to back up her points that the two most important elements of a brand are emotions and ideas. As she noted, the best brands offer emotions, experiences and ideas, NOT their products or services. Humans, whether clients, employees or customers, will remember stories over information that enhance recall and effect.


My main takeaway from this talk was Kirsty’s adamant point that, based on research by the neurologist Roger Beaty, that creativity is something that can be LEARNT and is within our control. There has become a dichotomous distinction between the technical and the creative that has formed into our individual mindsets; if we do not believe we are creative, then we won’t be! Due to this, I now am beginning to believe that I am creative.

Kirsty also gave some great quotes and resources that I will be beginning to use to further my innovative mind. This included gems such as the idea of ‘brainwriting’, each person in a group writing something down and then passing the paper along, and ‘dicking about on the internet is a valuable use of your time’. However, ‘true creativity happens offline’ – I’m trying to spend less time looking at a screen and more time outside but it’s still a work in progress!


Talks I Missed


The two talks I missed because of them being on at the same time as others on website conversion optimisation tips and how to reply to customers on the internet. The first of these two was led by Adam, a UX consultant, and I really wish I had gone to the talk but reading the slides means I’ve managed to catch up! The latter doesn’t really apply to me at the moment as I am not selling anything at the moment.


Final Thoughts


I absolutely loved going to this conference and would love to go again; I’ve already said it before, but a HUGE thanks to the Noisy Little Monkey team for having us. I’m looking forward to going to more networking events in the not too distant future within the South West – if you’ve got any recommendations of ones that I should attend then let me know!


Beth x

43 views0 comments
bottom of page